Daifuku-ji temple of Shingon sect in Funakata is also knowns as “the cliff temple” by locals. The main image is the eleven headed Goddess of Mercy (Kannon) carved directly on the cliff. Its origin dates back to 717 when Priest Gyoki visited the site and prayed for the safety of marine traffic. In 1715, it was consolidated as a peaked roof building temple. Many visit this unique temple as the third temple of Awa Kannon Pilgrimage, or to enjoy the splendid view of Tateyama Bay.
|Hours||Doors are open to show the interior of the temple during the day.|
|Address||835 Funakata, Tateyama City, Chiba Prefecture 294-0056|